Into Burgundy

Step into the heart of Burgundy with me as I explore the “Climats” or the vineyards and the cultural landscape of this French region. This is my third stay in Burgundy as part of my annual summer writer’s retreat made possible by Dr. Emma Palova and Dr. Adrien Chavent.

emmapalova

“Climats” in Burgundy present cultural landscape, a 2015 UNESCO world heritage site

Note: After my third visit to the wine region of Burgundy in France, I consider it to be my annual summer writer’s retreat amidst vineyards, exceptional gastronomy and the “Climats.”

By Emma Palova

Fixin, FR- On an early Sunday morning, I woke up to the ringing of the church bells and a local gentleman shouting at his dog, a lot louder than the dog’s barking.

From my studio, I heard the cars rolling down the narrow Rue Magnien that leads into the tiny wine village of Fixin. The walls around the estates magnify the sounds and funnel them into endless echoes.

Wine villages of Burgundy. Major street through Fixin

But, just before the light broke, I could hear the chirping of the birds in the mulberry tree. The mulberry tree is the only tree that grows between the bricks in the small…

View original post 943 more words

Leave a Reply

