Czech Harvest Festival “Dozinky”

Check out Bannister with a big Czech heritage bigger than the size of the town.

emmapalova

Czech Harvest Festival “Dozinky” in Bannister celebrates ethnicity

By Emma Palova

Bannister, Michigan- For years I’ve been going to the Czech Harvest Festival to honor my Czech heritage. I consider it a miracle that I even found out about it through a press release to the Ionia Sentinel-Standard from an insurance agent.

Considering that it takes place in the middle of nowhere in Central Michigan in the August heat, I think about what made me go that first time.

First of all, it must have been curiosity if anyone will speak Czech there at all. I am by nature a lover of new things, whatever they may be.

Czech dances in Bannister, MI in traditional costumes custom made in Czech and Slovak republics. Czech dances in Bannister, MI in traditional costumes custom-made in Czech and Slovak republics.

I was in for a surprise. A gentleman sang folk songs in Czech even though he didn’t speak a word of Czech to the lonely tunes of an…

View original post 270 more words

Leave a Reply

